Three Favourite Bash/Linux Commands

Yes. I am such a nerd that I have three favourite bash commands. Some of you may be surprised to find that sed, awk, and grep are not among them. Don’t get me wrong: I LOVE sed and grep, and I used grep ALL THE TIME. sed is great, but I’m not quite experienced enough to use it to it’s full potential (I mostly use echo $something | sed -e s/ / /, and I know something goes after the last /, but I don’t know what it is). So that being said, I won’t waste any more time, and I’ll deliver my three favourite¬† commands.

  1. killall -SIGKILL process. Why do I love this command so much? Because it’s so useful, because it provides instant gratification, and because it’s one of the commands that is quite obviously a MILLION times better than the Winblows equivalent. For those of you who have never used it: You know when you have a process that just – won’t – die? You’ve closed it, killed it, and killed it again, but it won’t go away. It’s either eating your processor, it’s preventing you from relaunching the program, or it’s just sitting there taunting you. Well killall -SIGKILL will kill it. I’m still on my way to learning how all these lovely things work, but in my experience, this command will kill any runaway process you can possibly encounter. And for you Windows users out there, it’s not like going into the Task Manager, finding the process rather than the program, and then ending the process – it works _every time_.
  2. du. du will go recursivey list your present working directory and tell you the size of all the files and directories in it. Very, Very useful, especially when you’re running out of space on a very tiny hard drive. Because it’s only two letters long and I don’t use it very often, I always forget it. Hopefully next time I’ll remember to look it up here.
  3. sudo. Why sudo? sudo make me a sandwich. (Also, check out the sudo make me a sandwich robot.)
Leave a Reply

