7 Printed Objects in 7 Days – Win or Epic Fail?

Tonight I had a brilliant idea: once I finish assembling and tuning my Makerbot Cupcake CNC, I should design, and print 7 objects in 7 days and video-document it all. As it’s 2:30 right now, and my ideas this early in the morning are usually either super awesome or perfectly horrible, I’m not sure if this is an epic win, or an epic fail. Like the idea? Hate the idea? Please comment on this post and let me know!My inspiration came from the 5-in-5 challenge/project/thing that a couple of ITP students did a while ago, and other project-making schedules like it (I don’t know why, but the only reference I can find to this anywhere is the the archives of makezine.com. Weird). I thought it was an awesome idea, and I’ve wanted to do something similar since I saw it, not only because it was so cool, but to test my ability to adhere to such a grueling schedule of creativity.

There are a couple thoughts running through my head right now. First and foremost is the lack of video equipment. I have pretty decent Sony video camera with a built-in mic, and a MacBook Pro… yeah, the new snazzy one without a firewire port. Very sad. I’m assuming there is an adapter for such a thing, and a lapel mic probably isn’t too expensive… right?

Second, if I do this I want my videos to not suck. Previous videos I’ve done have been relatively amateur, although to my credit I haven’t made that many videos. So, lifehacker that I am, what am I going to do about it? I’m going to watch every nerd-related DIY-ish/homemade video I can HTTP GET my  hands on. So with that fact in mind, I’ve basically I’ve been preparing for this video series since I first discovered YouTube.

Third, can I really create that many interesting things in that amount of time? I mean I’m basically a total 3D graphics newb. Fortunately, in about two weeks I’m getting my wisdom teeth taken out. “Fortunately?!” you ask, “Why fortunately?!” Well for a few days I’ll be in bed with no reason to do anything but eat, sleep, writhe in pain, check my e-mails, watch some TV, writhe in pain some more, and work through Blender tutorials until my eyes are sunken in. Hopefully, if I come up with enough ideas before hand and, if I’m conscious enough for those few days, I’ll be able to become fairly proficient at 3D design. I’ve never had this sort of dental surgery before, so I don’t really know how I’ll feel when I come out of it, but we’ll see how that goes.

And that’s about it. As I said in the beginning, please leave me a comment and tell me whether or not you think I should do this, if it’s something you’d like to see. I’m not convinced I want to do it yet, but I’m definitely excited about the idea.

Leave a Reply

