Running Skeinforge Without Some of the Effort

I find it very frustrating to have to type in a relative or absolute path every time I use skeinforge. Most of the time I cd into the skeinforge directory, then run skeinforge from there, which eliminates having to run python with an absolute path, but I still have to specify an absolute path to my stl file. Well no more. I’m using Mac OS 10.5.7 right now, but for the past several years I’ve been a die-hard Linux user, and in my years of experience I learned about the alias command, which I will demonstrate here.

To turn the word “skeinforge” into a “real command,” you need to use the alias command. The alias command works sort of like creating a tiny script. By running:

alias skeinforge=’python /Users/username/directory/to/skeinforge.py’

you are specifying that whenever you type the command “skeinforge” you really mean “python /Users/username/directory/to/skeinforge.py.” This is quite useful. The only hangup for me was getting the command working. In Linux there is usually a file in each user’s home directory called “.bashrc,” where commands like this can be specified, but it turns out that on Mac OS this file is called .profile.

So all you have to do is add the above alias command to your ~/.profile, and get skeinforging! For those who are unexperienced with the terminal, the following command should do the trick:

echo “alias skeinforge=’python /Users/username/directory/to/skeinforge.py'” >> ~/.profile

Leave a Reply

