The iPhone, The New iPhone

Yes, I’m about to give in to iPhone hype. However, I’ll admit that there are three things about the iPhone that really, really excite me. There are more, but because it’s 2:30 and I’m exhausted, I’m only going to talk about those three things. I promise that I’ll write a better post next week, but the past two weeks have been pretty busy.

First, and least exciting, is the display. Whenever I get a device with a screen of any quality, I put my face really close to it and search the edges of things for pixels. Sure, I could read the specs, but what do I care about the specs? I want to know what it actually looks like. In theory, when looking at the iPhone 4, I shouldn’t see any pixels. I don’t know if it will pass the “face less than two inches away” test, but it’s going to be pretty freaking amazing. Very exciting.

Second, and most exciting for me, is the screen. The moment I was sold on the iPhone was when I saw the video on Apple’s website of the display bending into an arc without so much as cracking. I was quite impressed. For me, the new screen, coupled with the fact that the outer rim is now used as an antenna, changes the new iPhone from a neat consumer toy to a practical device. I’ve heard horror stories of iPhone screens breaking and requiring $300 repair jobs, and that was really a turn off for me, the customer. If I drop the device from a nominal height and it shatters, then that’s not a device that I should be carrying with me, because I guarantee that I will kill it.

Finally, we have the 1 GHz processor. My current phone is a Nokia N95. It’s a wonderful phone. Chunky, but wonderful. It has all sorts of nifty features, and when I bought it 2 to 3 years ago, it was a pretty sweet phone. However, there are a few things about it that drive me up the wall, one of which is that it is disastrously under powered. I don’t know what processor it has in there, but when I open my text messages, it takes the better part of 30 seconds just to load. That’s not opening the messaging application, that’s just opening a single message. I should probably delete the majority of my text messages, but still, that’s just foolish.

So if it isn’t already apparent, I intend to buy an iPhone 4. I’ll wait until all the initial fuss is over, and I don’t intend to become a stupid consumer that buys whatever is popular or an Apple fanboy, but I do think that it will be the best phone on the market, and the best phone for my lifestyle. And it’ll be nice to finally have a touch keyboard rather than an obnoxious numeric keypad.

Leave a Reply

