Grumble grumble Blog Post grumble grumble

Until about two weeks ago, I had been posting pretty consistently on Wednesdays. Then I went on vacation, got caught up in life stuff, and now it’s time to get back to it. If you haven’t noticed, I like to give my blog posts some substance; I like them to be pretty long, not because I like the length, but because I want to say what I want to say completely without getting lazy because I don’t feel like editing a monstrosity of a post. On the other hand, it’s 2 am, and writing a long blog post would screw up my day tomorrow, which isn’t worth it. So I’ll leave you with a thought that’s been on my mind lately.

It’s an easy trap to fall into, that because something seems frustrating and pointless, it isn’t worth doing. That just because you don’t enjoy something means you shouldn’t do it. It’s true, that if you are consistently doing something that makes you unhappy, you should stop yourself at all costs, because if you don’t then it will become routine, and an unhappy routine is a very, very dangerous thing. However, it’s also true that sometimes you have to put up with little things that you don’t want to do in order to do bigger things that you want to. Overall happiness is what matters, and even if you aren’t happy with some of the things you have to do, if you’re happier with your life because of something that doing those little things allow you to do, them maybe they’re worth it.

Leave a Reply

