Two Full Decades of ME!

 

11-2-11. I was struck by the symetry of the date when I wrote it in calculus class. Yes, I had calculus class on my birthday. I was inspired to create this somewhat obviously doctored image. If I had the time and inclination I'd try to make it a little less obvious, but I like it the way it is.

Twenty years and two days ago, a child was born. That child, as you may have guessed, was me. A lot has happened in twenty years; four full terms of US presidents have gone by, Windows has barfed up a few more versions, Linux has become stable and usable, Mac has become usable. Web 1.0 grew, fell, and Web 2.0 rose from the ashes, bringing with it Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, blogs, and cloud computing. I’ve gone from elementary school, to middle school, to high school, and now, finally, to university. I’ve lived in two countries and three cities, and gone to five different schools. There have been quite a few rough spots, and quite a few really amazing spots.

So what am I looking forward to in the next decade? Who knows. Maybe I’ll get a job, move out, and start a new branch of my family. Maybe I’ll get some more fish for my fish tank. Maybe diabetes will be cured in the next ten years. I imagine that by the time I turn thirty there will be a treatment for celiac, and that eating gluten won’t mean feeling guilty afterward; it’ll mean taking a pill 30 minutes before. With practice, I’ll hopefully be pretty good at fiddle, and maybe I’ll even be playing with a band. I might be working in Computer Science, or I might be writing for a living. Whatever I’m doing, I intend to have fun doing it. Maybe these stupid political games the world is playing will be over, and we’ll finally see some peace and progress. I doubt it, but we can only hope.

At any rate, the past two decades have been good decades to grow up in. Standing at 20 and looking all the way out to 30 is a bit like looking up at a tall mountain hundreds of miles away from the summit of a somewhat smaller mountain; I don’t know what the journey will be like, and I don’t know who or what I’ll be when I get there. The only way to find out is to pack up and start hiking.

 

Image sources:

All images were claimed by Google Image search to be licensed for reuse with modification. If this is incorrect, please contact me and I will remove them.

One thought on “Two Full Decades of ME!

  1. Pingback: The Donald Kaufman Toy Collection, auctioned by Bertoia Auctions : Cars Blog | Everything You should Know about Cars

Leave a Reply

