Summer Recovery

I have a theory about summer. First, it’s important to relax during summer so that when school again you don’t burn out in the first week. That doesn’t necessarily mean not working, but it means doing a job you enjoy, if you can, and taking plenty of time for yourself. Second, to relax, you have to procrastinate to the extreme, and you have to forgive yourself for it. For me, the second part is less of a choice and more of an inevitability; my urge to procrastinate increases by 100 fold while my work ethic for things I don’t necessarily have to do decreases by about as much. I know that I’m adequately relaxing when I forget what day of the week it is.

This leads to a few rather tumultuous weeks of staying up until 3 or 4 am, starting a ton of projects and finishing only one or two, forgetting to post on my blog… that sort of thing. I’m usually quite a tired, sleep-deprived mess for the first few weeks of the summer, and I don’t really go out of the house during those few weeks of detox unless I have to.

A funny thing happens after a while though. Not all at once, but in bursts, I start accomplishing things that I’m supposed to do. It starts with cleaning my room, and usually progresses to either filing papers or cleaning my fish tank. After a few bursts of this, I’ve usually got my life in fairly good order, and when I start to get tired of organizing, the joy of how freaking clean my room is usually inspires me to keep going. It usually takes until the end of the summer, cleaning on and off as I feel like it, for me to get myself in complete order (though every year it seems to happen faster,) but it usually takes one swirling fury of organization before the term starts to get myself in order for doing school work again.

I don’t know if this is a good life practice, or if it’s going to help or hinder me in the long run, but it’s the way I work, and I don’t seem to have any choice in the matter. People seem to think that disorganization is a thing to fight and get rid of; it’s like a tumor that will debilitate you for your whole life if you don’t excise it at a young age. And while I agree that children should be taught how to organize themselves and their things, I don’t believe in the campaign against disorganization that seems to exist today. Disorganization does not create failure or even disorder; some people can work in a very orderly manner even though they have papers and books and pens all over their desks. Sometimes people need to find their own level of organization and live within it.

Leave a Reply

