Maker Faire Was Awesome (Formerly Untitled, Because I’m Silly)

Update: Yes, I forgot to title this post. I’m silly. It’s been a weird sort of day, please forgive me.

You may have noticed that I missed a blog post yesterday. I can explain… I totally forgot. I managed to do everything else on my list in a timely, orderly, disciplined manner, but the blog post fell off the edge of the Earth. In the end, I decided that it was better to get to sleep on time so I could go running this morning than to stay up and derail my entire week. So that’s what I did.

Yesterday, as planned, I went to Montreal’s very first Mini Maker Faire. It was everything I had expected. I spent nearly three hours wandering around the medium sized tent that had at least six different kinds of 3D printer, ham radio enthusiasts, makers, crafters, hackers, developers, and spectators. The $6 entrance fee seems a measly offering compared to all the awesome I witnessed there, and the best part was that I could stay as long as I wanted, walking around and absorbing it all.

I started reading Make magazine around seven years ago, and I’ve been a subscriber for maybe 5 years. Every year, as I become more and more adventurous, the idea of travelling to one of the great Maker Faires around the world has grown more and more appealing in my mind. One of these days, I’ll certainly go, and I might even go to more than one (especially since New York is only a train ride away.) Even so, it’s wonderful to be able to attend a miniature version of the fabled Maker Faire right here in my own town.

But that’s not the most exhilarating part. For me, the most exciting thing about the mini Maker Faire was seeing all the people who make things in Montreal and the surrounding areas. To find out that all these exciting things are going on around me is inspiring, and makes me want to get making! Before I got to Montreal, I was the only person I knew who had even heard of Make Magazine. I would tell people about it, and how exciting it was, but few people really understood what I was so excited about. At mini Maker Faire, I told people that I had a Cupcake, and they totally knew what I was talking about*!

After about two hours and 30 minutes, when I had seen every booth, and talked to most of the people behind them at length about what they were doing, and how they were doing it, I walked out to see the second level, and reached my saturation point. My brain started turning off; there had been too much to see and experience, and I had taken in about as much of it as I could. It was time to go home.

I wish I had taken pictures, but honestly I was too enthralled by what was going on around me. I’m always afraid of getting distracted by taking too many pictures, and ending up with the tourist’s dilemma of experiencing an exciting event through the lens of a camera. All in all, I would totally do it again tomorrow. And who knows, maybe one day I’ll be on the other side of one of those booths.

*It’s a 3D printer made by Makerbot called a Cupcake CNC. Not the dessert.

4 thoughts on “Maker Faire Was Awesome (Formerly Untitled, Because I’m Silly)

  1. Loved your review of Maker Faire. As an organiser we only see it from that perspective, so it’s great to get some feedback and see it through a participant’s eyes. Next year will be bigger and better! Glad you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

