Changes to the Blog (or Accepting Money from Readers with PayPal)

Today, I think we’ll forego the usual apology about not blogging for a while, and cut straight to the chase: there’s gonna be some changes ’round here. First, you may have noticed the rather snazzy new theme. The old one was too minimalist. Anyone who has seen my apartment knows that I’m not a total slob, but I am far from minimalist. This new theme is clean, neat, and fits my style much better. The fonts are pretty sweet too. Let me know what you think in the comments.

Second, a while ago, one lovely commenter suggested I add a donate button to my site. I did a little research, and got scared off by tales of people adding donate buttons to their sites, and having their funds frozen. Granted, PayPal can’t take money away (that is to say, the worst that would happen is I would make no money at all), but words like “freeze” and “bank account” in the same sentence scare me, especially when the sentence in question refers to my “bank account” being “frozen.” So I put the idea on hold. Today, however, I ran across that same comment, and thought to myself, “Let’s monetize!” So I called PayPal, and got the word directly from the horse’s mouth.

No, a personal, not non-profit blogger can not use the PayPal donation button to collect donations on their site. However, rather than accepting “donations,” you can use a “Buy Now” button, which I presume goes through different internal PayPal channels, and which allows you to accept an arbitrary amount of money from arbitrary people without having your bank account arbitrarily suspended. Brilliant! Then you can use the “Donate” button image for your “not donation” button, and away you go!*

So, if you’ve been itching to give me your money, but you’ve been frustrated that you haven’t been able to, now is your chance! That shiny button up at the right hand corner will take you to a page where you can enter your own “Item price” and give me some money. I will be eternally grateful! And I’ll be more likely to blog more often if I’m getting money from it.

On the other hand, if you feel that I’m a sell out, and that I’m being ridiculous asking for money from you in exchange for the meaningless drivel that I post on the Internet for all eyes to see… don’t donate. For one thing, I’m not asking for your money, I’m giving you the opportunity to give me some money to encourage my ramblings if you’d like to. If you don’t want to donate, you don’t have to. I might not love you as much as I do now, but I won’t hate you… not that much, anyway.

As always, you’re encouraged to express your feelings on these changes in the comments. I welcome your feedback; it helps me figure out what you people do and don’t like to read on the Internet.

And, because I don’t say it enough, thanks for reading.

*To be perfectly clear, these are not “Donations,” in the sense that they are not tax deductible, and they do NOT go to a charitable organization. They go to me filling my face with food, paying my bills, and buying an expensive private jet so I can travel to the Bahamas while sipping Champagne and eating fois gras. You are giving me money, you’re not donating it to any particular cause or organization. Just so we’re clear. (And so PayPal doesn’t smite me.)

7 thoughts on “Changes to the Blog (or Accepting Money from Readers with PayPal)

  1. This I like. As someone in a foreign country that is not allowed to make an income(my spousal visa is completely dependant on my wife’s job, just allows me to stay and keep her company) this would be really cool if enough people could toss a few bucks every now and then to help pay for things like webhosting and the occasional junk-food craving πŸ™‚ I’m curious if anyone stopps following you because of it, or how many start because of it (like me).

    • Well, unfortunately, this does count as income, and I have to declare it on my income tax. I’m not sure where you’re writing from, but I assume it’s the same there. Although, for small amounts, I imagine most governments will look the other way, since the money they’ll spend fining or deporting you is more than they’ll save by doing it. It gets tricky when you start to make more money, and that can happen suddenly.

      On the other hand, I don’t see why you couldn’t have your wife create a PayPal account, use that account to create the donate button on your blog, and then declare the income on her income statement…

      As for followers, I’ve gained somewhere around 10 new followers since I wrote this post, and have more activity on the blog than I’ve had in a long time! Maybe I should have started asking people for money sooner!

      • πŸ™‚ Actually, the key term to my visa is “not earn income in Korea”. I can make as much money as I want as long as it goes to my home country. Which, of course, means declaring income tax and such. ALso doens’t stop me from bringing said money into this country because it was not earned here πŸ™‚

      • Oh, cool. Well, in that case, have at it, I suppose! I guess they’re trying to prevent non-citizens from draining money out of their economy? Interesting.

      • Can’t blame them for wanting to keep their own citizen as employed as possible. As long as I am bringing money INTO the country, they are happy πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

